Future Earth
Global Carbon Project (GCP) Home

Who is Who

On this page:
Scientific Streering Committee Chair
Executive Directors
SSC Members
International Project Office - Australia
International Project Office - Japan
Project Office - France
Project Office - UK
Affiliated Office in Korea
US Carbon Program
SCOR-IOC International Ocean Carbon Coordination Project
Other Activity Leaders
Affiliates


Scientific Steering Committee
Chair

top
Rob Jackson

Rob Jackson
School of Earth Sciences
473 Via Ortega, Room 140
Stanford University
Stanford, CA 94305
Phone: 650-497-5841
Email: rob.jackson@stanford.edu

 
Executive Director

top
Josep Canadell Josep (Pep) Canadell
Executive Director
Global Carbon Project
CSIRO Oceans and Atmosphere
GPO Box 1700
Canberra, ACT 2601, Australia
Tel: +61-2-6246 5631
Fax: +61-2-6246-5560
Email: pep.canadell@csiro.au
 
SSC Members

top
Philippe Bousquet Philippe Bousquet
Laboratoire des Sciences du Climat et de l’Environnement (LSCE)
University de Versailles, Paris, France
Email: philippe.bousquet@lsce.ipsl.fr
 
Steve Davis Steve Davis
Associate Professor of Earth System Science and Civil and Environmental Engineering
University of California, Irvine, USA
Email: sjdavis@uci.edu
 
Shobhakar Dhakal Shobhakar Dhakal
School of Environment, Resources and Development
Asian Institute of Technology
Km. 42, Paholyothin Highway,
Klong Luang, Pathumthani 12120, Thailand
Tel: 66-2-524 5403
Fax: 66-2-524 5439
Email: shobhakar@ait.ac.th
 
Sabine Fuss Sabine Fuss
Head of working group "Resources and International Trade"
Mercator Research Institute on Global Commons and Climate Change (MCC) gGmbH
Torgauer Str. 12 - 15
10829 Berlin, Germany
Phone: +49 (0) 30 338 5537 224
Fax: +49 (0) 30 338 5537 102
Email: fuss@mcc-berlin.net
 
Chris Jones Chris Jones
Head, Earth System and Mitigation Science Team
Met Office Hadley Centre
FitzRoy Road, Exeter, EX1 3PB, U.K.
Tel: +44 (0)1392 884514
Fax: +44 (0)1392 885681
E-mail: chris.d.jones@metoffice.gov.uk
 
Jean Ometto Jean Ometto
Earth System Science Centre
National Institute for Space Research
Av. dos Astronautas, 1758
São José dos Campos, SP
12227-010. Brazil
Phone: +551233087903
Email: jean.ometto@inpe.br
 
Prabir K. Patra Prabir K. Patra
Senior Scientist
RIGC-ESS/IACE, JAMSTEC, Yokohama 236 0001, Japan
Visiting professor at CERES, Chiba University, Japan
Email: prabir@jamstec.go.jp
Web:http://ebcrpa.jamstec.go.jp/~prabir/
 
Julia Pongratz Julia Pongratz
Department of Geography
Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München
Luisenstrasse 37
80333 München, Germany
Phone: +49 89 2180 6652
Email: julia.pongratz@lmu.de
 
Anu Ramaswami Anu Ramaswami
Chair Professor of Science Technology & Public Policy
Hubert H. Humphrey School of Public Affairs.
Professor, Department of Bioproducts & Biosystems Engineering
University of Minnesota
Email: anu@umn.edu
 
Joeri Rogelj Joeri Rogelj
Senior Research Scholar
International Institute for Applied Systems Analysis (IIASA)
Schlossplatz 1, A-2361 Laxenburg, Austria
Grantham Lecturer Climate Change and the Environment
Imperial College London
Email: rogelj@iiasa.ac.at
 
Joyashree Roy Joyashree Roy
Professor of Economics
Coordinator: Global Change Programme
Jadavpur University
Kolkata: 700032, India
Phone: +919836007382
Email: joyashreeju@gmail.com
 
Hanqin Tian Hanqin Tian
Solon & Martha Dixon Professor, Director of International Center for Climate and Global Change Research
School of Forestry and Wildlife Sciences
Auburn University
602 Duncan Drive
Auburn, AL 36849, USA
Phone: 334-844-1059
Fax: 334-844-1084
Email: tianhan@auburn.edu
website: http://www.auburn.edu/~tianhan
 
Detlef van Vuuren

Detlef van Vuuren
PBL Netherlands Environmental Assessment Agency
PO Box 303
3720 AH Bilthoven
The Netherlands
Phone: +31 6 11956484

Copernicus Institute of Sustainable Development,
Utrecht University,
Heidelberglaan 2,
NL-3584 CS Utrecht,
The Netherlands
Email: Detlef.vanVuuren@pbl.nl

 
Libo Wu

Libo Wu
Professor, School of Economics
Executive Director, Center for Energy Economics and Strategies Studies
Deputy Director, Center for BRICs Countries Studies. Fudan University, China
Tel: +86-21-55665602(O); +86-13918005550
Fax: +86-21-65647719
Email: wulibo@fudan.edu.cn

 
Kirsten Zickfeld

Kirsten Zickfeld
Department of Geography
Simon Fraser University
8888 University Drive
Burnaby BC Canada V5A 1S6
Tel: +1 778 7829047
Fax: +1 778 7825841
Email: kzickfel@sfu.ca
Web: https://www.sfu.ca/geography/people/profiles/kirsten-zickfeld.html

 
International Project Office - Australia top
Josep Canadell Josep (Pep) Canadell
Executive Director
Global Carbon Project
CSIRO Oceans and Atmosphere
GPO Box 1700
Canberra, ACT 2601, Australia
Tel: +61-2-6246 5631
Fax: +61-2-6246-5560
Email: pep.canadell@csiro.au
 
Mark Kitchen Mark Kitchen
Web Content Manager
Living Landscapes
CSIRO Land and Water
GPO Box 1700
Canberra, ACT 2601, Australia
Tel: +61-2-6246-5588
Email: mark.kitchen@csiro.au
 
International Project Office - Japan
[website]
top
Tomoko Shirai

Tomoko Shirai
Head of Tsukuba International Office, Global Carbon Project
Head of Office for Global Environmental Data Integration and Analytics
Center for Global Environmental Research
Earth System Division (ESD)
National Institute for Environmental Studies (NIES)
Onogawa 16-2, Tsukuba Ibaraki, 305-8506, Japan
Email: tshirai@nies.go.jp
Web:https://www.nies.go.jp/researchers-e/100295.html

 
Peraphan Jittrapirom Peraphan Jittrapirom
Executive Director of Tsukuba International Office, Global Carbon Project
NIES Visiting Researcher/Senior Research Fellow
Nijmegen School of Management
Radboud Universiteit
Postbus 9108, 6500 HK Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Email: jittrapirom.peraphan@nies.go.jp
 
Yukako Ojima Yukako Ojima
Project Officer of Tsukuba International Office, Global Carbon Project
Centre for Global Environment Research
Earth System Division (ESD)
National Institute for Environmental Studies (NIES)
Onogawa 16-2, Tsukuba Ibaraki, 305-8506, Japan
Tel: +81-298-50-2672
Fax: +81-298-50-2960
Email: ojima.yukako@nies.go.jp
 
Project Office - France top
Philippe Ciais Philippe Ciais
Project Leader
Global Carbon Atlas
Commissariat a L'Energie Atomique
Laboratorie des Sciences du Climat et de l'Environnement,
Centre d'Etudes de Orme des Merisiers - BAT 709
Gif sur Yvette 91191, France
Tel: +33 1 6908 9506/7121
Fax: +33 1 6908 7716
Email: philippe.ciais@cea.fr
 
photo not available Philippe Peylin
Carboscope, Carbones applications for the Global Carbon Atlas
Commissariat a L'Energie Atomique (CEA)
Laboratorie des Sciences du Climat et de l'Environnement (LSCE),
Centre d'Etudes de Orme des Merisiers - BAT 701
Gif sur Yvette 91191, France
Tel: +33 1 6908 8811/6266
Fax: +33 1 6908 7716
Email: philippe.peylin@lsce.ipsl.fr
 
Patrick Brockmann Patrick Brockmann
IT Project Manager
Global Carbon Atlas
Commissariat a L'Energie Atomique (CEA)
Laboratorie des Sciences du Climat et de l'Environnement (LSCE),
Centre d'Etudes de Orme des Merisiers - BAT 712
Gif sur Yvette 91191, France
Tel: +33 1 6908 3224
Fax: +33 1 6908 3073
Email: patrick.brockmann@lsce.ipsl.fr
 
Anna Peregon Anna Peregon
Scientific Project Officer
Global Carbon Atlas
Commissariat a L'Energie Atomique (CEA)
Laboratorie des Sciences du Climat et de l'Environnement (LSCE),
Centre d'Etudes de Orme des Merisiers - BAT 701
Gif sur Yvette 91191, France
Tel: +33 1 6908 9561
Fax: +33 1 6908 7716
Email: anna.peregon@lsce.ipsl.fr
 
Project Office - UK top
Corinne Le Quéré Corinne Le Quéré
Professor of Climate Change Science and Policy
and Director of the Tyndall Centre for Climate Change Research Zuckerman Institute for Connective Environmental Research
University of East Anglia
Norwich NR4 7TJ
United Kingdom
Tel: +44 (0) 1603 592840
Email: c.lequere@uea.ac.uk
 
Affiliated Office in Korea top
Yowhan Son

Yowhan Son
Professor and Director of GCP-Korea Office
Division of Environmental Science and Ecological Engineering
Korea University
Seoul 136-713
Republic of Korea
Tel: +82-2-3290-3015
Fax: +82-2-928-0842
E-mail: yson@korea.ac.kr

 
Woo Kyun Lee

Woo Kyun Lee
Professor and Director of Environmental GIS/RS Center, Hosting Institute
Division of Environmental Science and Ecological Engineering
Korea University
Seoul 136-713 
Republic of Korea
Tel: +82-2-3290-3016
Fax: +82-2-953-0737
E-mail: leewk@korea.ac.kr

 
US Carbon Program

top
Gyami Shrestha Gyami Shrestha
Director, Carbon Cycle Science Program Office
US Global Change Research Program
1717 Pennsylvania Avenue NW, Suite 250
Washington, D.C. 20006-4618, USA
Tel: +1 202 419 3467
Fax: +1 202 223 3065
www.carboncyclescience.gov
Email: gshrestha@usgcrp.gov
 
SCOR-IOC International Ocean Carbon Coordination Project top
Maciej Telszewski

Maciej Telszewski
Director, International Ocean Carbon Coordination Project
Scientific Committee on Oceanic Research
and Intergovernmental Oceanographic Commission of UNESCO

Visiting Professor, Institute of Oceanology of
Polish Academy of Sciences
Ul. Powstancow Warszawy 55, 81-712 Sopot, Poland
Phone: +48 58 731 16 10 Fax: +48 58 551 21 30
www.ioccp.org
Email: m.telszewski@ioccp.org

 
Activity Leaders

top
Ana Bastos Ana Bastos
REgional Carbon Cycle Assessment and Processes
Max Planck Institute for Biogeochemistrys
Department Biogeochemical Integration
Hans-Knöll-Str. 10
D-07745 Jena
Germany
Tel: +49 3641 576247
Email: abastos@bgc-jena.mpg.de
Web: http://www.bgc-jena.mpg.de
Department: https://www.bgc-jena.mpg.de/bgi
 
Glen Peters Glen Peters
Global Carbon Budget
Senior Research Fellow
Center for International Climate and Environmental Research – Oslo (CICERO)
Postal Address: Pb. 1129 Blindern, N-0318 Oslo, Norway
Visiting Address: Gaustadalléen 21, 0349 Oslo, Norway
Phone: +47 2285 8780
Email: glen.peters@cicero.uio.no
 
Ben Poulter Ben Poulter
REgional Carbon Cycle Assessment and Processes
NASA Goddard Space Flight Center
Earth Sciences Division
Biospheric Sciences Lab
Greenbelt, Maryland, USA 27701
Email: benjamin.poulter@nasa.gov
 
Shilong Piao Marielle Saunois
Global Methane Budget
Université de Versailles Saint-Quentin
Laboratoire des Sciences du Climat et de l'Environnement
Centre d'Etudes de Orme des Merisiers - BAT 709
Gif sur Yvette 91191, France
Email: marielle.saunois@lsce.ipsl.fr
 
Rona Thompson Rona Thompson
Global N2O Budget
NILU – Norsk Institutt for Luftforskning
Instituttveiein 18, 2007 Kjeller
Postboks 100, 2027 Kjeller
Norway
Email: rona.thompson@nilu.no
 
Affiliates

top
Robbie Andrew Robbie Andrew
Global Carbon Budget
Center for International Climate and Environmental Research – Oslo (CICERO)
Postal Address: Pb. 1129 Blindern, N-0318 Oslo, Norway
Visiting Address: Gaustadalléen 21, 0349 Oslo, Norway
Email: robbie.andrew@cicero.oslo.no
 
Tatiana Ilyina Tatiana Ilyina
World Climate Research Program
Lead of the Ocean Biogeochemistry Group
Max Planck Institute for Meteorology
Bundesstraße 53
20146 Hamburg, Germany
Tel: +49 40 41173 164
Email: tatiana.ilyina@mpimet.mpg.de
Web: http://www.mpimet.mpg.de/en/staff/tatiana-ilyina/
 
Nebojsa Nakicenovic Nebojsa Nakicenovic
GCP former chair
International Institute for Applied Systems Analysis (IIASA)
Schlossplatz 1
2361 Laxenburg, Austria
Tel: 43 2236 807411
Fax: 43 2236 807488
Email: naki@iiasa.ac.at

Vienna University of Technology (TU Wien)
Gusshausstrasse 25-29/37320
A-1040 Vienna, Austria
Tel: +43 1 58801 37350
Fax: +43 1 58801 37397
Email: naki@eeg.tuwien.ac.at
 
Anand Patwardhan Anand Patwardhan
GCP former chair
Professor
School of Public Policy, Van Munching Hall
University of Maryland, College Park, MD 20742, USA
Phone: +1.301.405.3413
Email: apat@umd.edu
Web: https://spp.umd.edu/our-community/faculty-staff/anand-patwardhan
 
Shilong Piao Shilong Piao
GCP former SSC member
College of Urban and Environmental Sciences
Peking University
Beijing 100871, China
Phone: 86-10-6276-3298
Fax: 86-10-6275-1179
Email: slpiao@pku.edu.cn
 

Related information
> About GCP
> Sponsors